Call for Nominations: 6th Annual Warner Advocacy Award

Do you know someone who is a passionate advocate for patients with neuroendocrine tumors (NETs)? Novartis Oncology and The NET Alliance are searching for an outstanding NET patient advocate to recognize and honor with the 6th Annual Warner Advocacy Award.

The 2015 Warner Advocacy Award will be given to the individual who best embodies the spirit, passion, and dedication of the late Monica Warner, a driving force behind the Carcinoid Cancer Foundation for two decades and an extraordinary advocate for carcinoid and neuroendocrine tumor patients. Although she passed away in 2009, the spirit of her passion and hard work lives on.

Warner Advocacy Award_2Nominations are now being accepted and all submissions are due by 5 pm, Eastern Standard Time, on Thursday, August 20, 2015.

This year’s award process is different from previous years:

  • a simplification of requirement criteria for nominees
  • an independent committee of diverse professionals will vote for 3 finalists once all nominations are submitted.  The finalists will be announced on November 10 — Worldwide NET Cancer Awareness Day.
  • the public will then vote through a poll on the Warner Advocacy Award website to choose the 2015 winner
  • The winner of the 6th Annual Warner Advocacy Award will be announced in January 2016

The recipient will receive an individual award of recognition (non-monetary) and a donation of $10,000 from Novartis Oncology to an approved, patient-focused 501(c)(3) charitable organization suggested by the awardee.

Nominees may be patients, caregivers or advocates who work in the United States. While Novartis recognizes the contributions and dedication of health care professionals, this award is not intended to be given to a healthcare professional.Warner Advocacy Award 2015_Deadline for Submissions

Nominations will be reviewed for the following criteria:

  • Number of years as an advocate
  • Innovation of patient-focused project(s), examples of these projects include, but are not limited to brochures, awareness outreach, teleconferences, local/regional/national conferences, interactive web activity
  • Number of educational programs hosted yearly, examples of programs include, but are not limited to, webcasts, phone conferences, face-to-face meetings
  • Frequency of interactions with patients (monthly, weekly, several times a week)

Previous recipients of the Warner Advocacy Award:

  • Grace Goldstein 2014
  • Jim Weiveris 2013
  • Susan Anderson 2012
  • Jan Naritomi-Hart 2011
  • Maryann Wahmann 2010

Novartis Oncology and NET Alliance logos

Print Friendly, PDF & Email